Judges, Sponsors and Supporters of The First New Zealand LGBTI Awards Have Made The Awards A Reality, Says Director Silke Bader

Judges, Sponsors and Supporters of The First New Zealand LGBTI Awards Have Made The Awards A Reality, Says Director Silke Bader

By Ciaran Warner

As the month of November finally arrives and the countdown begins until the big night, Director and MD of the first New Zealand LGBTI Awards Silke Bader is delighted by the enthusiastic responses, passionate support and hard work that has gone into making the inaugural event a reality.

Taking place on November 29th, at the luxurious Cordis Hotel in Auckland, the Awards Ceremony will be a lavish black-tie affair that will see politicians, academics, charity workers and celebrities alike take to the Red Carpet for this celebration of love and equality that is intended, in Silke’s words, “to create visibility and role models for the LGBTI community and celebrate its allies.”

She says she is immensely grateful for the support that the Awards have received, particularly from the panel of judges who have decided the winner for several of the Awards categories, and their sponsors, who consist of a diverse range of businesses unified by their desire to support the message of compassion and diversity that the Awards are promoting.

“My sincere thanks go out to our judges - we have chosen a judging panel of senior leaders who are invested in their workplace and also the wider LGBTI community,” Silke says.

The judges include academics, founders of charities and organisations, and politicians who have in some way contributed to the fight for equality on behalf of the LGBTI community, such as Labour Party member Louisa Wall and National Party member Nikki Kaye.

Meanwhile, there has been no shortage of sponsorship for the New Zealand LGBTI Awards, with nine of the award categories receiving sponsorship from companies such as Amazon, Countdown, Meridian Energy, Crusoe’s Retreat, and more, with the position of headline sponsor claimed by the world’s largest airline itself – American Airlines.

“Our sponsors have all dedicated themselves to ensuring fairness and tolerance in the workplace and have been incredibly supportive of the LGBTI community and its allies. We are delighted to have these organisations backing us,” Silke says.

The Awards will feature drinks, dinner and entertainment, and will feature famous faces such as Tamati Coffey, MC for the evening, Lucy Lawless, Ambassador for the Awards, and the Topp Twins, Jools and Linda, who will be receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The shortlist of finalists includes categories for destinations and marketing campaigns as well as businesses and people, and its finalists have an extensive and diverse list of careers and accomplishments, from artists and activists to university lecturers, journalists and even policewomen. A number of celebrities are also included, from Kiwi stars such as Lorde and Lucy Lawless, to internationally-known names like Sir Ian McKellan and Hugh Jackman.

A full list of finalists can be seen below.


Brand/Marketing Campaign Shortlist

Absolut, Amazon, Countdown, EY, NZME, Quantas, REINZ, Simpson/Grierson, Vector.

Community Initiative/Charity Shortlist

Flash Mob Entertainment, Gag Drag Collective, Promised Land, Qmunity Youth Gisbourne, Rule Foundation, Tiwhanawhana, Tranzaction, the James Wallace Arts Trust, WIPP.

Destination Shortlist

Auckland, Ireland, Las Angeles, Las Vegas, Miami, Palm Springs, Queenstown, Tasmania, Thailand, Wellington

Hero Shortlist

Bruce Kilmister – CEO at Body Positive Inc.

Dr. J.J. Eldridge – Lecturer

Jennifer Daruwalla – Editor at Outlet magazine

Nevin Godvindasamy – Filmmaker

Nick Winchester – Co-Founder and Mentor at Kindred

Rhona Stace – Senior Prosecutor at NZ Police

Roxy Coervers – Producer, Photographer, Artist

International Icon Shortlist

Conchita – Singer

Faustina Agolley – TV Broadcaster, Actress

Heather Peace – Actress, Musician

Hugh Jackman – Actor

Lea Delaria – Comedian

Magda Szubanski – Writer, Advocate

Ruby Rose – Actress

Sir Ian McKellan – Actor

Tegan and Sara – Pop Duo

Local Icon Shortlist

Aaron Chisholm – Paramedic and MAFS Contestant

Lorde – Singer

Lucy Lawless – Actress

Melanie Bracewell – Comedian

Peter Gordon – Chef

Ricky Devine-White – Activist

Samuel Levi – Fashion Influencer

Taika Waititi – Film Director

Urzila Carlson – Comedian

Media Professional Shortlist

Aziz Al-Sa’afin – Broadcaster

Joanne Carroll – Journalist

Kim Baker Wilson – Journalist

Mike Puru – TV Show Host

Olivia Caldwell – Sports Reporter

Music Artist Shortlist

Alex De Vries – Singer

Anika Moa – Singer

Annea Lockwood – Singer

Charlotte Yates – Singer

Gareth Farr – Singer

Hilary King – Singer

Iris G – Singer

Monique Rhodes – Singer

Noah Slee – Singer

Parson James – Singer

Organisation Shortlist

298 Youth Health Centre, Fletcher Building (Firth’s Rainbow Concrete Truck), Haka Tourism Group, Key Assets, New Zealand Police, Pink Health Otautahi, Rainbow Lifestyle Protection, The Warehouse Group, Weddingmoon Vacations

Politician Shortlist

David Seymour

Louisa Wall

Marilyn Waring

Hon. Nikki Kaye

Sports Personality Shortlist

Benjamin Thomas Watt - Boxing Judge

Blyth Tait MBE – Equestrian

Brad Weber – Rugby Player

Geovana Peres – Boxer

Kate Weatherly – Mountain Biker

Kim Dermott – Football Player

Leilani Tominiko – Wrestler

Takatapui Shortlist

Awa - Filmmaker and Mentor

Dr. Elizabeth Kerekere – Activist and Politician

Grace Falwasser – Activist and Public Speaker

Kevin Haunui – Activist, Sportsman, Events Administrator

Tai Waru – Activist and Entertainer


To learn more about the New Zealand LGBTI Awards, or to book tickets, visit them here.


Contact New Zealand LGBTI Awards:
Email: silke@newzealandlgbtiawards.co.nz
Phone: +61 2 8097 0054
Website: http://www.newzealandlgbtiawards.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lgbtiNZ
Twitter: https://twitter.com/lgbti_nz
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.nz/newzealandlgbtiawards/
Google+: https://plus.google.com/112187441818861674708
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCSbpixysMQ3czoelIgzixGQ
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/company/new-zealand-lgbti-awards/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/nzlgbtiawards/

Contact MediaPA:

Phone: 0274 587 724

Email: phillip@mediapa.co.nz

Website: www.mediapa.co.nz

Facebook: www.facebook.com/MediaPA

Twitter: twitter.com/NZ_MediaPA

YouTube: www.youtube.com/user/TheMediaPA

Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/NZMediaPA